HP5590 SecretChef® Electronic Slow Cooker 5.5L

The traditional, ceramic slow cooker with electronic control and programming with handy countdown timer and automatic keep warm for ease

SecretChef® Electronic Slow Cooker 5.5L is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 67.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_AU, sid_HP5590, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 234ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
This product has been discontinued.
RRP $79.95
Where to Buy Product - you are purchasing .
Preparing a wholesome family meal has never been so easy. As it's programmable, the Sunbeam Electronic Slow Cooker allows you to simply add ingredients, program your cooking time and monitor with the handy countdown timer. The controlled slow cooking temperature tenderises and infuses the food for optimum flavour. And the Auto Keep Warm function ensures it switches to keep warm automatically so you can be away from the kitchen. Ideal for 6-8 people, and those who love leftovers.
  • Auto Keep Warm Setting

    Auto Keep Warm Setting
    After cooking is completed, automatically switches to the keep warm setting to prevent overcooking - perfect for busy families and those on the run.

  • Wrap Around Element

    Wrap Around Element
    Wraps around the crock sides to ensure even heating. It prevents food sticking to the bottom of the crock and eliminates the need to stir your food.

  • Dishwasher Safe

    Dishwasher Safe
    Dishwasher safe pan and lid for easy cleaning.

Specifications & Features

Trigger
Colour Stainless
Construction/Finish Metal Wrap
Dimensions H x W x D 280 x 430 x 290
Net Weight (kg) 6.70 kg
Cord Length (mm) 900
Working Capacity (L) 5.50
Cook And Serve Bowl Yes
Count Down Timer Yes
Crock Ceramic
Crock Shape Oval
Wrap Around Element Yes
Dishwasher Safe Bowl and Lid
Glass Lid Yes
Heat Settings Low, High, Auto Keep Warm
Keep Warm Setting Auto
Removable Cord Yes
Safety Features Lead-free glaze on ceramic pot*
Warranty Months 12
Warranty Type Replacement
* During standard testing the levels of lead & cadmium are negligible and meet American FDA standards.

Specifications and Features are subject to change without prior notification. Images are used for illustrative purposes only.

Customer Reviews

Trigger
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cook well but timer numbers don't work It cooks well but has only lasted 1 year before the digital numbers don't work and the handle are getting very hot.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this slow cooker, its a life saver! After getting frustrated with the 'normal' slow cookers that have everything 'pulled/mush' for the 8 hour cooking, I desperately searched for a slow cooker with a built in timer. This slow cooker is great because of the auto '6 hour' keep warm function. You can set the timer anywhere from 1 to (I think) 12 hours, and then when cooked, the machine auto tickets over to keep warm, and holds it at a food safe tempreture until you're ready to eat! The slow cooker itself seems to be quality, and haven't had an issue with it yet!
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed like everyone else I've had mine for just under a year and it has failed like the other reviews have said. The digital display fails and when that occurs the machine turns itself off. Halfway through cooking when this has happened. I have tried to turn it on countless times for it to last less than 15 minutes and fail again. Would not buy this product again. Had my last slow cooker for 15 years and it didn't fail. I chose to upgrade it to a digital model. What a shame I got rid of it. I will not buy Sunbeam again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sunbeam Digital Slow Cooker I bought this a month ago and I love it. You turn it on, set it for the termperature and length of time, and when it is finished, it turns to Warm automatically and stays on the setting for a further 6 hours by which time I am home. Love it
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not buy So, wish I read the reviews on this slow cooker! Had mine for 6 months or less and I can even get it to go past 2 hours without it turning off and turns off when I just turn it on. Very disappointed as I paid $69 thinking sunbeam really great brand my family have the some brand slow cooker and has lasted years. Now I have to pay another slow cooker very annoyed! Don't not pay this slow cooker and if you have or will keep the receipt so you can get your money back. Unfortunately I lost my receipt.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works only for one year This product works reliably up to a year. Then the display started to go. I almost couldn’t cook the contents if not for the sheer luck of just switching the power on and off so that the display works just enough for me to set the timer. Shocking that it would have such a short lifespan. My $10 kettle at least worked for about 2 years.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I love slow cookers, as a busy working mum they are a lifesaver! This model is not as useful as I am accustomed to. The timer on the slow setting only allows 12 hours max and then the warm setting only allows 5 hours max then switches off.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little slow cooker This is absolutely fine for our needs. Beautifully cooked chicken thighs with pull apart meat. Can't wait to find some recipes that we can all enjoy.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from indicators rubbed off and display stops working Unfortunately the display stopped working about 6 months after I bought it (so I cannot see how long it is set for or the time remaining) and the writing that indicates high, medium, warm and start have rubbed off so I am never certain what temperature I set it for. It also cooks hotter on low than my previous slow cookers so leaving it while I am at work for 8-10 hours will burn the recipes I use to use.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Display not working Fantastic slow cooker, love the keep warm function! But sadly after only a few months of ownership the display has stopped working so we no longer know the time remainING etc and other words on buttons have started to rub off but other than that it's the best slow cooker I've ever owned
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the easy to see digital clock This is a brilliant product from Sunbeam. As soon as we unpacked it, we started using it. And it gets used just about every day. We couldn't be happier with this product.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing auto warm feature I have had this for about 3yrs and have used it at least once a week, love the fact it automatically clicks over to warm feature after timer has finished. The display has recently started to fade making it difficult but other than that it still works amazingly well. Will definitely purchase another!
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love I am loving my new slow cooker, no longer coming home to dried out dinner thanks to the programmable timer that switches over to warm once cooking has finished. It was so affordable.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Broken within 12months What I found to be the 2 main features of this slow cooker is that the pot can be removed for easy washing and the best feature seemed to be that you can nominate the time you want the food to cook & then this will switch over to automatically keep warm. Unfortunately the digital function has stopped working. Hoping to get a return under the 12 month warranty. Not sure how to though. I've been thinking that I would purchase another until reading the reviews and now I'm 2nd guessing.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Happy except for display I really like the slow cooker but find it almost impossible to read the display.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best slow cooker. I bought this when I moved out of home over a year ago. So easy to use, I've made lamb shanks, roasts, curries,soup s etc.always hot. The best thing just coming home from work and dinners ready and warm. Bought mum one for christmas. Also dishwasher safe it Rocks.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Electronics don’t last I actually think this cooker cooks very well, however I have owned 2 of these in 4 years and the electronics always fail and I’m left with a beautiful cooker that can’t work! Very frustrating for me and the environment, as it ends up in the bin.
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great family size slow cooker Great family size slow cooker. The timer is very handy and overall it’s very simple to use. The removable pot makes it very easy to clean. There are some great recipes inside the manual too. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ? Faulty product Not sure if mine is faulty, chicken cooked for 7 hours is still tough, I will return it . I had a sunbeam previously and it was great . I like the idea of the keep warm feature so will perhaps try another one.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very convenient love the digital screen that counts down and then switches to warm for when you aren't home. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed Used this slow cooker a few times, always very disappointed with the results so left in cupboard for months. Decided to give it another go, no change,low setting after 9hours food only half cooked.Hi setting after 6hours meat almost cooked veggies half raw, even after cutting potatoes into small pieces and dicing carrots.I have followed the instructions to the letter so I am very sorry I wasted my money on a product I had hoped would be a big help to me. Very disappointed with this product and would not recommend it to anyone!.
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cracked bowl I bought this product no more than 3 years ago and has only been used about 20 times over those 3 years. When I took the cooker out this morning there were tiny cracks all through it and one big crack that went all the way through the base. Not too impressed if this is what happens after such minimal use
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not last I purchased this product about 3 1/2 years and it worked fine until recently. Now, it takes about 6-10 attempts to set the time and cooking temperature as it turns itself off before the program is accepted. Once it does start cooking, it does go for the programmed time, but does not reliably change to keep warm mode. Sometimes the unit will switch off at the end of the cooking time. I am increasingly frustrated when using this, and when I do replace it, I will not be purchasing another Sunbeam product.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST SLOW COOKER EVER The best slow cooker we ever used. You can leave it on for days and you won't have any issue. Ideal for lazy people who doesn't have the time to keep an eye on things. Highly recommended
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product have had this brand for years Bought this to replace my old one where I had accidentally broken the casserole dish. Great value for money
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If it works, brilliant, but failed one second use. My last slow cooker was a sunbeam and I was quite happy with it, but wanted to upgrade to one with a timer. This one worked flawlessy the first time, 8 hours on low, then switched to warm as it should. Second time I used it, set on high for two hours, after which it just shut off instead of going to warm. So I turned it back on, high, for one hour, to finish off what I was cooking. After about 3 minutes, it shut itself off again.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from slow cookin' Bringing back a little "crock pot" cookin into our family home - time poor & busy lives... cooking dinners & soups are back on the menu at our house with our new slow cooker. Real easy to use, with a nice large ceramic pot, that feeds our family of 4 easily! Some great recipes in the box plus some of own specials have already made it a hit! Can't wait for winter time soups & stews!!!
Date published: 2020-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is crap It burnt my food the first time I used it and burnt myself numerous times the handles on the side arnt the best and the food didn’t cook properly [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HP 5590 Digital display FAILURE Love the features, especially the 'stay warm' function for up to six hours. Digital display has partly failed. Very disappointed considering everything else is perfect. Sounds like it is the weak link in this product. Will be interesting to see if Sunbeam provided any compensation considering this appears to a be a product fault.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful large slow cooker I bought this slow cooker to replace my old sunbeam that was 22 years old. I love the digital feature for setting the time and keeping the meal warm and this time a larger size too. Again sunbeam have the wonderful removable pot so the whole meal can go in the fridge. Fabulous product.
Date published: 2018-07-12
  • y_2020, m_2, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_AU, sid_HP5590, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT