DT5600 Food Dehydrator

Create your own natural, healthy snacks at home. Make dried fruits and vegetables to fruit roll ups, beef jerky and muesli

Food Dehydrator is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 34.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_AU, sid_DT5600, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 453ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
This product has been discontinued.
RRP $139.00
Where to Buy Product - you are purchasing .
Designed to help dry a variety of fruits, vegetables, meats, flowers and herbs without added preservatives. Create your own healthy snacks from fruit roll ups to beef jerky, dried fruits and muesli. It’s the perfect solution for school lunches, picnics, camping, backpacking and everyday snacks. Bonus fruit roll tray.
  • 5 Stackable Drying Racks

    5 Stackable Drying Racks
    Allows drying of several different foods at once. Opaque racks protect the nutritional value of food from light.

  • 3 Heat Settings

    3 Heat Settings
    Allows you to select the appropriate setting for the type of food being dried. Includes removable filter for easy cleaning.

  • Convection Fan

    Convection Fan
    Circulates hot, dry air around and through the five drying racks of the unit for even drying.

Specifications & Features

Trigger
Colour White
Construction/Finish Plastic
Dimensions H x W x D 190 x 350 x 330
Net Weight (kg) 2.40 kg
Wattage 370.00
Cord Length (mm) 1200
Adjustable Height No
Drying Racks 5
Fan Motorised
Filter Yes
Fruit Roll Tray 1
Heat Settings 3
Tray Measurement (mm) 330
Warranty Months 12
Warranty Type Replacement

Specifications and Features are subject to change without prior notification. Images are used for illustrative purposes only.

Customer Reviews

Trigger
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results Great results. Simple to use, easy to clean. A bit noisy but easily fixed by keeping in the back room. I've tried strawberries, pears, tomatoes, bananas, mangos and even dhal. Everything came out fantastic. Such a great way to preserve excess veggie garden produce.
Date published: 2018-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked well for a while I have had the dehydrator for a bit over 2 years and haven't used it very much and has just stopped working, worked very well for a short time and now I'm not happy
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Got my dehydrator to do my own poweted onion and garlic , have done fruit as well . Love it .
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I got this a few years ago and haven't used it as often as I'd have liked. But whenever I do it works a treat. Some things I've made are: Dried Persimmons, Marinated semi dried tomatoes with herbs, salt, vinegar & a bit of olive oil. At the moment I'm currently drying some sliced mushrooms that have been marinated in a mix of soy sauce, mirin, pepper, chilli, vinegar & crushed garlic. It's been two hours so far but they're already starting to look a bit dried. And the house smells so good. I'll be using it some more in the coming days to dry out some fruit & veg for a hiking trip.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Limited Lifespan Was very happy with the machine and bought extra accessories etc, but after just one year the motor started to falter and it has just burnt two batches of jerky. 15 months is not a reasonable lifespan for this appliance!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Dog Treats! I use the Dehydrator mainly for preparing dog snacks. It's so easy - I slice chicken breast into about a 2cm width, place in the machine, turn on high and leave for about 12 hours. Saves me so much money (dog treats are so expensive!) and it's great to know exactly what's in the treats.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy It is loud like a hair dryer. Doesnt work on sweet potato.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice I was given this one as a gift last year and I like it.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine Have had this for around 3 years, just making jerky. Does an excellent job.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Noisy This is a noisy appliance. Have to use it in the garage. Fan noise is expected in an appliance like this but this has a high pitched whine with it. Took it back to store and we tried other units in stock. Same noise. Very disappointed I bought sunbeam because I trust the brand and have had good experiences before.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOISY This is a noisy appliance. Has to be used in the garage. Fan noise is expected in a device like this, but this has a high pitched whine with it. I took it back and we even tried other ones in stock. Same noise. I bought sunbeam because it's a known brand but am disappointed that they have allowed such an inferior product to carry their name. Rest of the unit appears fit for purpose.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible, waste of money The machine is loud and does not have a time function. And it doesn't work! The booklet that comes with the unit recommends a drying time of 6 hours for figs, I've had some in it for over 24 hours now and they aren't even close to being done. After reading a few reviews (unfortunately after I had purchased the product) it seems this is a common problem. Do yourself a favour and stay away.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent addition to the kitchen We purchased the Sunbeam Food Dehydrator to dehydrate vegetables to take hiking. The dehydrator works even better than I expected - it is remarkable how it reduces the volume and weight of your food. We have also found it really useful as a way to reduce food waste. The dehydrator has three settings, one for flowers/herbs, one for fruit/vegetables, and one for meat. We have not yet tried dehydrating meat, but have dried herbs, fruit and lots of vegetables. Some vegetables it is useful to blanch first, to speed up dehydrating times and make reconstituting easier. The fan is slightly noisy, so it is best to put it in a room where you can close the door. However, it is important to note that running the dehydrator increases the moisture in the air, which is relevant in a hot and humid climate! We use our dehydrator with a timing device (for the electricity socket) so we can put it on overnight without having to get up and turn it off. That works really well. The only criticism is that the mesh in the trays has quite large gaps so some smaller pieces of food (for example smaller onion rings or peas) can fall through the gaps when dehydrated. One way around this is to use a layer of baking paper. Overall an excellent purchase and great value for money.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was Fantastic, but only lasted 2 years I absolutely loved this dehydrator and used it to dry fruit, vegetables and meat. It was easy to use and very easy to clean. Unfortunately after two years the motor has stopped working, so very disappointed. Good for the short term
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great purchase! I bought my dehydrator a month ago but I did not want to review until I had given it a thorough test. I love this machine so much I am considering buying another one. I love making strawberry and banana chips with it! My partner quite enjoys home made tomato chips and beef jerky! I have been making two batches of dehydrated food a day, I can't get enough of it! There is no food wastage in our fridge anymore which is saving us money!
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor quality this is useless and really noise spend an extra $50 and get a decent one....
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product love it So happy with my new dehydrater. I use it all the time
Date published: 2015-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and economical and works a treat We have 3 dogs, instead of buying treats, we dehydrate all their chicken, beef, pork, and feel confident that we know exactly what is going into their mouths. No artificial colours or flavours and all the other dogs in the park won't leave us alone.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works a Treat Works wonderfully and am so happy I bought such a wonderful machine
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice style I am happy with it yes I am. Beef jerky here I come
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the Job Bought this primarily to make chicken jerkies for my dog and didn't think it would be this good. Does take quite a few hours before you get them totally dry but that is to be expected. Have made some great semi-dried tomatoes as well. Great buy.
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Given as a gift. Daughter very pleased but has not used it as yet. But she will.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have only just starting using it but so far no problems at all.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yet to use my new one, but have used this brand before and recommend it.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product easy to use saves extra crops from going off.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To be given as a Christmas present so not yet tested, but looks complete and excellent, brand new condition, still in packaging.
Date published: 2012-12-15
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_AU, sid_DT5600, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT