EM4820 Café Crema® II

The Café Crema® II 15 BAR Pump espresso machine will help you create the perfect serve of espresso at home using a combination of two essential elements: the required pressure and precise temperature

Café Crema® II is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2018, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_AU, sid_EM4820, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
This product has been discontinued.
RRP $199.00 + Delivery
Product Out of Stock
Product - you are purchasing .
The full metal body and components result in a durable design, allowing you to create countless coffees at home.
  • Italian Designed 15 BAR Pump

    Italian Designed 15 BAR Pump
    Delivers the required pressure for complete extraction of oils, resulting in a delicious espresso topped with a rich, golden crema.

  • Efficient Thermoblock Heating System

    Efficient Thermoblock Heating System
    Delivers fast heat-up and ensures water is heated to the required temperature for preparing espresso and texturing milk

  • Crema System

    Crema System
    Helps to create a great tasting espresso.

Specifications & Features

Trigger
Colour Stainless
Construction/Finish Die-cast Metal, Stainless Steel Housing and Components
Dimensions H x W x D 320 x 270 x 250
Net Weight (kg) 7.45 kg
Wattage 1300.00
Cord Length (mm) 1000
Capacity (L) 2.10
Cleaning And Descale Programs Manual Cleaning
Cup Warming Tray Yes
Design Designed and Engineered in Australia
Group Handle Aluminium and Phenolic
Group Handle Filters Single & Double Dual-Floor Filters
Group Head Size Domestic
Heating System Single Thermoblock
Hot Water Function Yes
Included Accessories 500ml stainless milk jug and coffee spoon with tamp
Instructional DVD Yes
Pump Pressure 15 Bar Italian Pump
Temperature Control Thermister Controlled Thermoblock
Warranty Months 12
Warranty Type Replacement
Water Tank Capacity (ml) 2.10

Specifications and Features are subject to change without prior notification. Images are used for illustrative purposes only.

Hints & Tips

Trigger

The types of coffee machines

Manual: For people who like control over their coffee-making, the coffee grounds are loaded by hand into a cup-shaped filter. Capsule: Easy to use and mess-free, simply insert the sealed capsule (""pod"") of pre-ground, pre-measured coffee. Automatic/Semi-automatic: Decide what you want your coffee machine to do for you. Some models perform tasks at the push of a button, including cleaning the machine. They also offer a range of pre-sets for one, two or three shots of espresso at the push of a button.

Grinding the coffee beans

Some coffee machines have a built-in coffee bean grinder, which can be adjusted for coarse, medium, fine or extra-fine granules. Coffee grinders come in three types: Wheel burr grinders: The beans are crushed between two wheels, one spinning very fast and the other stationary. These can be noisy. Conical burr grinders: A metal cone at the base rotates against another surface at the top. These spin more slowly, tend to clog less and are quieter. Blade grinders: Beans are sliced finely using a blade. These may grind beans unevenly and leave coffee with a slight burnt taste if ground too long. If the espresso maker doesn't have an in-built coffee grinder, you'll need to buy a standalone one or use pre-ground coffee instead.

What is a thermoblock?

This is the internal component of a coffee maker that heats water to the optimum temperature range for making coffee (between 85°C and 96°C). For good flavour it's important that you don't scald the coffee. Machines with twin thermoblocks make coffee quicker because they heat the water for the coffee and create steam for frothing the milk at the same time.

Shipping & Delivery

Trigger

We offer delivery for all online orders and a delivery fee will apply. We deliver to most metropolitan and country areas. Please refer to our Terms of Sale.

Customer Reviews

Trigger
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Choice, For The Price!!! What Can I Say, I enjoy a good coffee and I was doubtful about buying a (Capsule Operated Machine) as I would have no control over the strength of the coffee in a capsule, other than to buy several varieties to consider. Then I saw this EM4820 on the shelf with a Mark Down Tag as it was the last one, so I took a punt! I'm so glad I did, as it makes a perfect cuppa everytime and the maitenance is so easy, a quick wipe of the Steam Wand and Rinse the Handle where the Coffee goes, plus depnding on how many Cuppers I have, I may need to fill the water tank, or at least top it up durring the day, other wise refill it each nigh, after my last cuppa and it's ready for the next day. O and the heatting is great also, I turn it on when I get up and by the time I'm ready for work it's ready for the first cuppa of the day. Well Done Sunbeam!
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not made to last I bought this 6 months ago and already needs a group head seal, when it was working it did make fantastic coffee though.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good coffee, but doesn't last I've had two of these, but need to return the second after ten months. It's a shame as they make great coffees when they're working, but in both cases the switches have failed (first after just over a year, this one just a bit less).
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works and it was a lot cheaper Lets face it, all a coffee machine has to do is heat water and pass it through the coffee, and boil water and pass it through a fine jet. It is not rocket science. This machine does both those functions very well.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Built to a price Looks fine and has some nice features such as steam or hot water through the wand. Odd that the default is hot water not steam, but a minor issue. Mine failed just out of warranty as it leaks water from somewhere inaccessible above the brew head and as a result ends up with a lot of water following through into the cup. Takes a long time after brewing to be hot enough to steam. Coffee has gone cold by the time it's ready! It was a replacement for another sunbeam that was very well built. This newer one has cooler features and looks but to be honest is poorer quality
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't even survive long enough to make 1 cup !! Bought one today and what a disappointment. Running through the setup process, ie, running water through the machine without coffee, and the water stopped flowing after about 1/4 of a cup and the bench is covered with water. Tried again, ensuring the water tank was firmly in place (just in case), but instant leaks, no water through the machine, and a saturated bench. Back to Harvey Norman tomorrow for a full refund. Bought a previous model in 2003 and it's been flawless until the rust became unbearable and needed replacing, but after this it is time to try a different brand.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought my machine 3.5 years ago. I have had a fabulous hassle free run. Enjoyed wonderful Latte, Cappucinos and flat whites. It is fabulous. However suddenly it has started to leak around brew head and have changed seal and thoroughly cleaned machine to no avail......sadly I am in a remote area and we have no service agent...Althougth repair is probably going to be nearly as much as parts......disappointed it hasn't lasted longer.....
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from they look good ut not really for long had first machine for 4 months then water started to leak out the seals. So Got a replacement and now 5 months later blown seals have occured good coffee machine until these replacements occur regular
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped working Had this machine for about 10 months .It became very hot , leaked and stopped working.Tried to contact Sunbeam and they did not respond , typical when there are problems.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice coffee short life. Ours made a good coffee, but just over 14 months old and it has corroded through its pipe work. It's no longer usable.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I've only had this for 3 years and it's died already. The power button has been pushed in to the machine or something, so I can't even turn it on!!! It rusted so easily....I keep the machine clean and dry but there are rust marks every where Like other reviews have stated, I also had the leaking head issue. Definately would not recommend.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sunbeam Cafe Crema Espresso Coffe Machine I bought thSunbeam Cafe Crema Espresso Coffe machine for my daughters birthday. She has just completed her barista license and is extrememly happy with this product Everyone she caters for is happy with her coffees! Fantastic.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy I got mine about 7 years ago and have been extremely happy with it. Many hundreds of coffee's have been made with little hassle and much enjoyment. Just this week it has ceased to operate so I will go out and purchase another one I've been that pleased with it. I find pod coffee horrible and compared to the price of the bigger, more deluxe machines this little beauty ticks all the boxes. Just remember, it's perfect for one or 2 people, anything more and it's out of it's depth.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from could last longer after almost 16months, the head began to leak at every use, also began to short out the power...
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine, poor choice of internal materials. Easy to use. Good coffee. Plastic internal components with varied shelf-life under pressure and heat stress. Group head leaks appear to come from a crack in the assembly, which pours out over the heating element, fills-up the area above the pouring head then leaks into your coffee. This particular machine survived about 2 1/2 years, making up to 4 coffees each weekend before the crack must've happened, so still made back what was spent on it.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Leaks like a sieve I bought this machine September 2015. It works and brews acceptable coffee, the steam wand both heats and foams milk as you would expect it to. Problem is, I gotta keep a container under the steam wand at all times as the steam wand never stops dripping water. When the coffee function is on, water pours out of the steam wand, around 200ml per cup of coffee brewed. Won't be buying this, or another Sunbeam machine again.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New machine! This replaced my 12 year old Sunbeam cafe crema model. More powerful steam jet to froth milk quickly. Pump works well with fine ground coffee. Higher head allows for taller mugs. The base tray cover is somewhat flimsy and vibrates during operation, moving the cups from beneath brewing head, also it easily becomes displaced. Whole unit is easier to clean. Generally quite happy and hope it lasts as long as previous unit.
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke down 18 months in.. We bought this model because the last Sunbeam Cafe Crema EM4800C had served us well for nearly 10 years...but this one only lasted 18 months and now it doesn't heat...cold coffee is not preferrable! The tray was always problematic too - kept falling in. Quite disappointed, but unfortunately I can't find my receipt..
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great machine... when it works A great machine for the price and no complaints about the coffee quality, unfortunately this is the third machine in a row that has leaked profusely from the water tank. First went just beyond 12 months, however the last two have only made it a few months each. Worth paying a bit extra to get added build quality.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this machine Bought this as my boyfriend had one and I was in the market for a new machine. I knew from drinking the coffee he made me it was a good machine. I use it a number of times a day, especially on the weekends.... Simple to use and froths even almond and coconut milk. Very pleased with purchase.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Coffee Machine EVER!!!!!! I bought this coffee machine 4 months ago. It is the best coffee machine I have ever bought. I think that its price it a bit to high, but over all it does every thing I have ever wanted it to do. For the people who just want the occasional coffee at home, you could not go wrong.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from fantastic machine - but not built to last Had it for just under 2 years and pumped out 4 great coffees a day - but now the buttons are broken which is a real pity. Not sure what to do now - buy one of these every 2 years - or buy one at 3 or 4 times the price (and will still probably have issues every 4 years...)
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size and features! I bought this as a Christmas present for my fiance. He has been bugging me for years about getting him a proper coffee machine. I have always been told that I would get fresh barista coffee every morning and he's followed through. Bonus gift for me as well :)
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple! This is the 3rd Sunbeam coffee machine I've purchased. This machine makes great coffee, it is reliable and easy to use. It is fast to heat up and has no trouble making 2, 3 for 5 cups in a row. I use it twice a morning most day a week and have no problems.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cafe Crema I love this machine, i first bought one one these 4 year ago and it sadly died last week. Happily Sunbeam still make them so I went out and bought another one. It makes coffe easily as good as you'll get in any good cafe. Well done Sunbeam!!!
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting your Barista on! This is a wicked entry level coffee (espresso) machine. Takes no time at all in getting used to creating your own cafe-style caffeine hit! For the price this machine does the trick!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cup of Joe! This is a great machine, we had a Breville previously which was not near as good as much harder to clean. This machine is really fast and froths the milk perfectly.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for price! I bought this a month ago and it's been great so far! Really good value for money & perfect for someone looking to start using manual machines
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Good features are, cup warmer, easy to fill and remove water container, coffee measuring spoon and combination tamper. Also is easy to use.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks good. Easy to use too!! Have had mine for about 1 month and love it. No more BPA pods for us. Fresh ground coffee as strong as I want it to be.
Date published: 2016-04-29
  • y_2018, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_AU, sid_EM4820, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT