EM3820 Café Espresso™ II

Enjoy the taste and aroma of café-quality in the comfort of your own home with the Café Espresso™ II 15 BAR Pump espresso machine.

Café Espresso™ II is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
  • loc_en_AU, sid_EM3820, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 219ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
This product has been discontinued.
RRP $159.00 + Delivery
Product - you are purchasing .
  • Italian Designed 15 BAR Pump

    Italian Designed 15 BAR Pump
    Delivers the required pressure for complete extraction of oils, resulting in a delicious espresso topped with a rich, golden crema.

  • Efficient Thermoblock Heating System

    Efficient Thermoblock Heating System
    Delivers fast heat-up and ensures water is heated to the required temperature for preparing espresso and texturing milk.

  • Crema System

    Crema System
    Helps to create a great tasting espresso.

Specifications & Features

Trigger
Colour Silver
Construction/Finish Plastic & Metal Components
Dimensions H x W x D 312 x 215 x 260
Net Weight (kg) 6.16 kg
Wattage 1300
Cord Length (mm) 1000
Capacity (L) 1.70
Cleaning And Descale Programs Manual Cleaning
Cup Warming Tray Yes
Design Designed and Engineered in Australia
Group Handle Plastic
Group Handle Filters Aluminium and PP
Group Head Size Domestic
Heating System Single Thermoblock
Included Accessories 500ml stainless milk jug and coffee spoon with tamp
Pump Pressure 15 Bar Italian Pump
Temperature Control Thermister Controlled Thermoblock
Warranty Months 12
Warranty Type Replacement
Water Tank Capacity (ml) 1.70

Specifications and Features are subject to change without prior notification. Images are used for illustrative purposes only.

Hints & Tips

Trigger

The types of coffee machines

Manual: For people who like control over their coffee-making, the coffee grounds are loaded by hand into a cup-shaped filter. Capsule: Easy to use and mess-free, simply insert the sealed capsule (""pod"") of pre-ground, pre-measured coffee. Automatic/Semi-automatic: Decide what you want your coffee machine to do for you. Some models perform tasks at the push of a button, including cleaning the machine. They also offer a range of pre-sets for one, two or three shots of espresso at the push of a button.

Grinding the coffee beans

Some coffee machines have a built-in coffee bean grinder, which can be adjusted for coarse, medium, fine or extra-fine granules. Coffee grinders come in three types: Wheel burr grinders: The beans are crushed between two wheels, one spinning very fast and the other stationary. These can be noisy. Conical burr grinders: A metal cone at the base rotates against another surface at the top. These spin more slowly, tend to clog less and are quieter. Blade grinders: Beans are sliced finely using a blade. These may grind beans unevenly and leave coffee with a slight burnt taste if ground too long. If the espresso maker doesn't have an in-built coffee grinder, you'll need to buy a standalone one or use pre-ground coffee instead.

What is a thermoblock?

This is the internal component of a coffee maker that heats water to the optimum temperature range for making coffee (between 85°C and 96°C). For good flavour it's important that you don't scald the coffee. Machines with twin thermoblocks make coffee quicker because they heat the water for the coffee and create steam for frothing the milk at the same time.

Shipping & Delivery

Trigger

We offer delivery for all online orders and a delivery fee will apply. We deliver to most metropolitan and country areas. Please refer to our Terms of Sale.

Customer Reviews

Trigger
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CHOICE great review Bought this model over 2 years ago and still going strong
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad, complete waste of money! I bought this a week ago and its already leaking, I understand this is a cheap machine but just not acceptable!
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Amazing coffee, great value but broke after 7 mths I bought this machine in May and brought it back to London with me as I could find nothing as cheap as this in the UK! The quality and coffee has been amazing. Unfortunately the thermostat and steam wand just broke (no longer producing hot water?) and the cost to fix is the same cost as a new machine. Frustrating!
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great entry level espresso machine, so easy to use I've had capsule machine in the past and thought I'd give manual coffee a go. This is a great price point, no risk! We bought ground coffee to use, the first coffee I poured was perfect! So easy to dose the handle - the dose device can also be used to tamp the coffee. The steam wand is easy to use as well. You can't do both coffee extraction and steaming milk at the same time, but with the price I wouldn't expect this. It's a small unit too which suits my small kitchen!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked well short term! My first Sunbeam Cafe Expresso 11 worked well for 8 -10 weeks, 1 coffee every morning, ocassional 1 for a visitor. Then a problem started - as soon as l heated it & switched it to filter my coffee it leaked hot water out every where, empied the tank as l was using machine. To keep using the machine each morning l only put in a fresh cup of water into tank.. while l was trying to find my purchase receipt. Until it was completely unusable... . .water started leaking, splurting out everywhere around filter. So packed it up, in the box that l had kept.Took it back, was grateful to have machine replaced. Set it up ready to use this morning..BUT to my disappointment, after heating up it refused to pump the water through! Only the Steamer/ frother worked! Another trip back to store..an hours drive again. Thanks Mr Sunbeam!! Would NOT recomend this machine.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont waste your money at present time Previously very good. More recent machines have rotten pumps. Bought one was still in warranty and replaced when it blew its pump. The first replacement lasted 3 months - again the pump. Sunbeam was willing to replace again (many problems with this series) . This replacement has lasted 3 months. Dont know where to go from now. Love my home cappuccinos and lattas over the last 20 years. No previous problems with either Sunbeam or Breville coffee machines as they lasted well 5 to 7 years. This one was a total dud and Sunbeam is well aware of it.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from had mine for over 2 years now and makes perfect coffee every time!
Date published: 2018-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from faults with this machine I had bought this one around a year ago, only to take it back three times, bad design and leaking, no crema
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic but Decent. Owned and used every day for over a week. So far so good. Was an emergency purchase as our bigger, better machine died after years of faithful service, and coffee, at our house, is life. Decided I just needed a machine that produces coffee. Didn’t need bells and whistles, just coffee. We use Harris coffee religiously, pre-ground, as I’ve found this produces most consistently great coffee. We don’t even use the milk frother, as we just microwave our milk (gasp!), so reviews that it isn’t great didn’t deter me. Stuck with Sunbeam, as previous machines have been good value and long-lasting. This is obviously the most basic manual machine, but once the shock of ‘all plastic’ construction and lightweight parts passes, I decided this was a wise purchase indeed. We are real happy with it.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New coffee espresso drinker I recently purchased this product for my daughter. Oh and myself I think,, as Coles is no longer selling our favourite coffee CARTE NOIRE,, not bad so far as I'm learning to use it, and learning about espresso ☕ not bad so far
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent coffee machine Have made some really great cappucinos and lattes works great and easy to use
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I bought this a couple of months ago and it’s fabulous. Like the rest of Australia I worked as a barista for a short period of my life which probably helps a bit. It tastes just as good, if not better, than a purchased one. As long as you clean the machine after each use you’ll have a great cup of coffee. I tend to use the 2 cup serve filter for 1 cup, I find it gives a better brew. Also keeping the milk jug in the fridge helps. Highly worth it!
Date published: 2019-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not only 6 months old and already broken. Problems since purchase with leaking and the water not pumping through then when you would take the handle off the water would explode all over you
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for price Paid $100 for this little machine. It's paid for itself already on what we would have spent on morning cuppas. Not as good as big machine in cafes. Plus we need a grinder. Already grinded coffee goes off.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this machine I bought this a few weeks ago and I love it. It is so easy to use and to clean. I don't know how I lived so long without one.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coffee capsules Can i only use lavazza capsules in my sunbeam machine or are there other brands i can use.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine Makes coffee as good as a cafe. Quick steaming. Simple to use. Choice recommended.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cafe Espresso II EM3820 The only words that need to be said are "Thoroughly impressed!"
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For people who have their values in perspective The Sunbeam Cafe Espresso 2 machine is for people who have their values in perspective. It is for people who enjoy maintaining control of the taste of their own coffee. It is for people who enjoy waking up slowly with the morning ritual of preparing their coffee. It is for people who enjoy making a cup of coffee to their partner’s taste. It is not for people who are in a rush and just want a quick cup of coffee. It is for people who like to take time to smell the flowers and enjoy their coffee. It is the opposite of that DeLongi advertisement for its automatic machines, where the aim is to get out the door as quickly as possible, where there is no involvement in the coffee-making process, where there is no sign of a partner … where there is no time for any thing or any one. The Sunbeam Cafe Espresso 2 is also a fraction of the price and is good value for money. It is among the cheapest of the coffee machines with a recommended retail price of just $150, but it has been on special at Big W for as little as $100. The advantage of the Cafe Espresso 2 is that it is an entirely manual unsophisticated machine. You have control over how you tamp your coffee and how long you draw it. You have full control over frothing your milk with the steam wand. Apart from the size of the group handle, there are no preset quantities or times or sizes. Even though it is simple and uncomplicated, it allows you to produce a much better cup of coffee than many an automatic machine which has predetermined grinding, fixed volume of water and inevitably inferior froth. But make no mistake, this machine is built to a price and it shows. My first machine failed within the first year (fortunately – as I was able to claim a replacement under warranty). The replacement machine came with a slightly bent drip tray cover, which meant that cups gravitate towards each other and rattle when making two cups at once. The plastic drip tray itself soon deteriorates and shows surface bubbling where it collects water discharged when the water/steam control is turned back to the off position. The low cost design/build quality is also reflected in the machine’s operation. For example, care is needed when turning the control knob back to the off position, as it does not snap into position. The knob will sit either side of the off position and does not seem to discharge properly until turned fully into position. Presumably, there would be some danger of damaging the machine if the knob is not returned fully to the home position. The simple design also carries an overhead in preparation before and cleaning after making a cup of coffee. The group handle really benefits from being warmed by running water through it without coffee before putting coffee into it. Afterwards it is important to again run water through it again to flush the filter, as well as to remove any coffee grounds remaining in the group head. The filter is a two-layer affair that cannot be separated and will retain coffee within it, unless flushed. This eventually clogs the hole on the lower side of the filter. While Sunbeam provides a pricking tool to clear obstructions from this hole, prevention is better than cure. Otherwise, as with any coffee machine, it benefits from being kept clean – the steam wand particularly (like all others) being susceptible to accumulating burnt milk. Building to a price has limited the design in other ways. I am not sure the machine is actually designed to make two cups at once, despite the group handle having two dispensing holes. (If the lower filter hole is obstructed, the flow through the dispensing holes will not be even – one will have greater flow than the other.) The supplied milk jug is probably big enough for two small cups of coffee, but definitely not large enough for two standard medium or large cups, unless you draw a large volume of coffee. There is nowhere on the machine to store the group handle when not in use – it should not be left in the group head, as this can damage the seal. Nor is there a place to store the coffee scoop or the spare filter. They end up sitting on top of the machine. The top of the machine is promoted as a cup warmer, but cups left here will also tend to rattle when the machine is in use. The machine does not come with a coffee grinder, which can be as important to the end result as the coffee machine itself. A reasonable grinder could cost at least half as much as the coffee machine itself. I have bought a larger milk jug, affordable at Kmart, to enable me to make two medium cups of coffee at a time. I have bought some non-slip plastic kitchen draw matting, which I have cut to size and placed on top of the drip tray cover. Its open weave design lets water through but keeps the cups from rattling. This same material could be used on top of the machine, but I have found that a standard thin kitchen sponge cloth fits neatly on the top and also serves to keep it clean. Taking all this into account, I would buy another one … particularly if it was on special.
Date published: 2018-08-02
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
  • loc_en_AU, sid_EM3820, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam-au
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT